Friday

A warning.

Unless a cereal states clearly that it is 'GLUTEN FREE" it's probably not and you should avoid it.  My husband was fooled this morning by a box of Kelloggs Frosted Flakes that is inadequately labeled.  It said malt flavoring in the ingredients and to a seasoned gluten-free-er like myself that was enough, but for my husband who is new to all of this, it was not.  He didn't realize that malt flavoring is made from one of the oft-forgotten gluten containing grains, barley.  Again, gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye.  It is in a lot of things that you wouldn't expect like corn flakes and cheerios which are clearly labeled as being made of oats.  Gluten is usually found in even plain unprocessed oats, because of contamination in the field.   It's very frustrating that we can't get decent labeling in this country!!!! 

2 comments:

  1. What is even more frustrating is finding a gluten-free product (or "regular" ones for that matter) without artificial dyes in them. Without the warm yellow colour from wheat, gluten-free products are pasty white and unattractive, so they dump a bunch of tartrazine into it to make it look healthy (or fun, depending on the product).
    We're about a month in on a gluten-free diet, hoping it helps our 5 year old focus past her ADHD. Eliminating dyes (labeled commonly as "Colour", "Added Colour", or the straight out colours used such as "Red No.40") for over a year now has certainly shown improvement, but gluten seems to be taking longer.

    ReplyDelete
  2. If you do your own baking, add a little bit of pureed pumpkin or sweet potato to the bread, better color, more moist and better flavor.

    I haven't even really gotten into looking at the food dyes. I might need to look into that.

    ReplyDelete