Saturday

What's for dinner today?

Zatarain's dirty rice with hamburger.
Hodgsen's mill mac and cheese
Corn. 

My tummy has been feeling a little bit under the weather and I was trying to go for things that would make it happy.   It's tasty. 

Friday

A warning.

Unless a cereal states clearly that it is 'GLUTEN FREE" it's probably not and you should avoid it.  My husband was fooled this morning by a box of Kelloggs Frosted Flakes that is inadequately labeled.  It said malt flavoring in the ingredients and to a seasoned gluten-free-er like myself that was enough, but for my husband who is new to all of this, it was not.  He didn't realize that malt flavoring is made from one of the oft-forgotten gluten containing grains, barley.  Again, gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye.  It is in a lot of things that you wouldn't expect like corn flakes and cheerios which are clearly labeled as being made of oats.  Gluten is usually found in even plain unprocessed oats, because of contamination in the field.   It's very frustrating that we can't get decent labeling in this country!!!!